Gordon, Tristano, Johnson voted into Jazz Hall of Fame
- New York 05/22/2015 (AP)

 Saxophonist Dexter Gordon and pianists James P. Johnson and Lennie Tristano are the newest inductees into Jazz at Lincoln Center's Ertegun Jazz Hall of Fame.

Gordon was considered the first tenor saxophonist to adapt the new bebop style pioneered by Charlie Parker in the 1940s.

Johnson helped pioneer the Harlem stride style of jazz piano in the 1920s, while Tristano was an innovative modern pianist who in 1949 made the first freely improvised group recordings.

JALC announced the 2015 inductees Friday. They were chosen in a vote of jazz fans around the world from a list of nominees submitted by a committee of jazz musicians and scholars.

To date, JALC has inducted 48 jazz greats into the Hall of Fame since its launch in 2004.

more info